Our People

Chair – Ian Pearce has more than 20 years’ experience in professional services, leading and consulting to a broad range of clients in the private, government, public and not-for-profit sectors. Ian has a solid reputation and a wealth of experience in providing advisory and consulting services to clients. In recent years he has returned to his passion for the water and is a highly regarded and experienced swim and water safety teacher, and swimming coach.

Deputy Chair – Leanne Deans is currently Manager City Strategy at Brimbank City Council. She has worked in local government for 25 years across the areas of economic development, strategic planning and place management.



Secretary – Don Nardella  was a Member of Parliament for the Seat of Melton from 1999 to 2018. He has an interest in looking after people and providing services and education that will help them for the rest of their lives. Don enjoys reading, listening to heavy metal music and motorcycling


Treasurer – Doris Cunningham is currently a Financial Consultant with extensive financial expertise in  local and state government as well as the private sector.




Director – Christine Pilbeam is a General Manager for Business Services and Company Secretary at Honda Australia Motorcycle and Power Equipment Pty Ltd.



Director – Troy Watson is currently Manager Libraries at Melton City Council. He has significant experience in library management and within various levels government. He is currently undertaking postgraduate studies in business leadership.



CEO – Trish Heffernan has led Djerriwarrh Community & Education Services as Chief Executive Officer since 2009. She has qualifications in business, education and science.   She started her working life as a teacher and is proud of the way Djerriwarrh’s growth has increased the ability of the organisation and staff to contribute to the development of  ‘self-reliant people and strong communities.’